Geoff Tate Announces Farewell Tour as Queensryche

by

Legendary frontman Geoff Tate, who founded Queensryche and drove the band to unfathomable success, has announced the “Queensryche Starring Geoff Tate- The Farewell Tour.”

The platinum selling band has been embroiled in a legal battle over the sole rights to the Queensryche name over the last two years. When The Metal Review spoke with Tate during his “Operation Mind Crime” Tour in November 2013, I asked the voice behind Queensryche for the details behind the lawsuit, for which he politely declined. Quite frankly, I was glad he did. I didn’t really want to talk lawsuit jargon, I was sitting down with Geoff f%^*$g Tate!

Queensryche is and has always been Geoff Tate and those other guys. The name might not live on with Tate, but Queensryche is not Queensryche without Tate’s distinctive voice. He is the man behind the name. Unfortunately, the courts ruled against that notion and gave the other dudes the name. Have at it. The divorce is final and Tate at least got to take Operation Mindcrime with him.

To celebrate the nasty split, Geoff Tate will bid farewell to the name with a 22 date tour kicking off at Saint Rocke in Hermosa Beach, California on July 30th.

Oh and as if Tate’s thirty-year legacy isn’t enough to solidify him as an official bad ass in the music community, he will be continuing on as Geoff Tate: The Voice of Queensryche.

Because without Geoff Tate, there is no real Queensryche.

Tickets on sale beginning Friday May 2nd.

QUEENSRYCHE STARRING GEOFF TATE / 2014 FAREWELL TOUR DATES


    Wednesday, July 30 – Saint Rocke in Hermosa Beach, California
    Thursday, July 31 – The Coach House in San Juan Capistrano, California
    Friday, August 1 – Sycuan Casino in El Cajon, California
    Saturday, August 2 – House of Blues in Las Vegas, Nevada
    Sunday, August 3 – The Canyon Club in Agoura, California
    Thursday, August 7 – Strummer’s in Fresno, California
    Friday, August 8 – Theatre Deville in Vacaville, California
    Saturday, August 9 – Downtown Amphitheater in Morgan Hill, California
    Tuesday, August 12 – Music Marathon Works in Nashville, Tennessee
    Wednesday, August 13 – Lincoln Theatre in Raleigh, North Carolina
    Thursday, August 14 – The Chop Shop in Charlotte, North Carolina
    Friday, August 15 – Ziggy’s by the Sea in Wilmington, North Carolina
    Saturday, August 16 – Ziggy’s in Winston-Salem, North Carolina
    Sunday, August 17 – Center Stage in Atlanta, Georgia
    Tuesday, August 19 – Trees in Dallas, Texas
    Wednesday, August 20 – Aztec Theatre in San Antonio, Texas
    Friday, August 22 – Rialto Theatre in Tucson, Arizona
    Saturday, August 23 – Talking Stick Resort in Scottsdale, Arizona
    Sunday, August 24 – Sunshine Theater in Albuquerque, New Mexico
    Tuesday, August 26 – The Depot in Salt Lake City, Utah
    Thursday, August 28 – The Cotillion in Wichita, Kansas
    Saturday, August 30 – Tailgaters in Bolingbrook, Illinois